Interview Trail: Boston Part 1





You probably don’t need me to tell you this, but medical students — at least the ones I know — have know-it-all tendencies. 


On a completely unrelated note, do you want to know the worst person you could probably travel with? A KNOW IT ALL. 


Within 5 minutes of arriving at the airport, Y decided that his last few weeks of travel canceled out the fact that I had ever set foot on an airplane. He criticized:

  •  the speed at which I removed my ID from my purse (“You need to have that out beforehand!”)
  • the shoes I chose to wear on the plane (“Boots?! You’ve got to be f*king kidding me. You do know you have to take those off, right?”)
  • my shoe removal technique (“You’re not fast enough!”)
  • the placement of my jacket on the security conveyor belt(“You need a second bin for your coat. Everyone knows that.”)
  • my failure to push the bin forward (“You can’t just set it down! It has to be pushed. You’re holding up the line!”)
  • the pocket I chose to store my quart size bag of liquids (“You need to keep them closer to the front so they’re easier to remove!”)**
And once we were on the plane:

  • “That smell you’re smelling is the beverage cart. It smells bad on 100% of flights.”
  • “Dammit! I’ve already read this issue of Skymall. Twice.”
  • “What?! Both of our flights are on Canadair Regional Jets? I myself prefer the Embraer or any of the Boeing jets.”
  • “PSH! This turbulence is nothing.”
And then… the seasoned air traveler discovered something he hadn’t noticed before. 


“Hey!”


“That speaker looks like a thyroid!!”



**In Y’s defense, I may be exaggerating a teeny tiny bit. But I truly believe he would have said all of these things had I not given him a look of death after he tried to tell me which pocket to put my toiletries in. 

9 thoughts on “Interview Trail: Boston Part 1

  1. LOL! I wore boots last time I flew… I didn't think it took too long, and I noticed that at least 70% of women in the airport were also wearing boots. Why would you put your heaviest shoe option in your luggage? 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment